How are the Europoints difficulty scores calculated?


The official formula for Europoints scores has 2 components, slope difficulty and distance, and is as follows:

   SQR(slope%)*distance + 5*distance

   where distance should be expressed in kilometers

In all calculations made on this website, the formula has been slightly adapted. First, distance made on descent (this assumes a slope of at least -1%) are ignored. This is because efforts on descent is minimal. Second, all segments are used for the calculation to obtain a more precise result.

In other words, if a climb is 400 meters at 5% (20 meters ascent) plus 600 meters at 10% (60 meters ascent), the system will calculate the slope difficulty as SQR(5)*0.4 + SQR(10)*0.6 = 25*0.4 + 100*0.6 = 70 Europoints.
Whereas usually, the slope difficulty scores are averaged for each kilometer. In our example, that would mean 80 meters of ascent for 1 kilometer, which corresponds to an 8% slope or 64 Europoints.

Using this method, one obtains for example:
   1 km with 10% slope: SQR(10)*1 + 5*1 = 105 points
   0.5 km with 10% slope: SQR(10)*0.5 + 5*0.5 = 52.5 points
   1 km with 5% slope: SQR(5)*1 + 5*1 = 30 points
   1 km with 2% slope: SQR(2)*1 + 5*1 = 9 points

For an explanation about Europoints and other calculation methods, you may wish to visit the website of Daniel Gobert.